top of page
Search
  • janelledavid

Reflective Essay

Throughout the years in my high school life, I’ve became a strong student. I’ve only been to ACLC for two years and I’ve learned so much. Coming from a small island called Guam, there were not that much opportunities out there. I did not experience the things that people here experienced since there was only limited opportunities. When I moved here, it was a whole different environment. I did not even know anyone, or even know what school I was going to or what it looked like. My previous school was an all girls’ college preparatory high school and it was pretty small compared to schools here. Before I went to ACLC, I went to a regular high school for a day and I already was terrified because I’ve never experienced being in a big school. Then, when my mom picked me up for lunch, she told me about ACLC. I was hesitant at first, but I went along with it because I know I would not survive a huge school. When I transferred here, I was shy at first because I did not know anyone. But, everyone gave me a warm welcome and it was easy to make friends here. I became more outgoing when I came here, I was not shy anymore. I learned that it is okay to be yourself and that people will support you wherever you go. ACLC is a one of kind school and I was really glad that I went here.

The environment in ACLC was kind of odd to me at first because I was not used to calling teachers by their first names and mixing students from different grade levels. But, I’ve realized that it makes it more easier for all of us to bond together as a whole school. The classes are really interactive with one another and it helps you create a bond and a type of teamwork with one another. Knowing no one, this gave me the opportunity to open up and make new friends. ACLC gave me the opportunity to create a new environment for myself and learn about new people and about teamwork.

My mind is set on achieving my goals and giving it all my best. Through I may fail, I know that I can learn something from it. I challenge myself in how I handle things like homework and other assignments. I know if I work my hardest and do my best, I will receive my reward and reach my goals in life.

When I came to ACLC, I’ve learned different types of skills. I’ve learned different types of leadership skill and teamwork. For church, I am the youth group leader or the president. I’ve learn people skills and learned how to use it in my everyday life. By doing this, I learned how to know that everyone is different and to treat everyone the same even though you are a leader, you are never above them.

Of course living in this century or throughout these years, technology is already a common thing and everyone knew how to use it. But when I came to ACLC, we use our technology everyday. In this century, technology is already a necessity, so we use it with our learning skills everyday.


2 views0 comments
bottom of page